thinking about archaeology

Dinosaur rap

Oxford Nat Hist 1

Wrapping things always brings unexpected and often slightly sinister aspects out of familiar objects. After an early morning at Stonehenge I drove up to Oxford, to give a talk at the Pitt Rivers Museum. The public access to the Pitt Rivers is through the Oxford University Museum of Natural History. Its slightly older neo-gothic Deane-Woodward building (1861)  is closed this year while they complete restoration work to the roof. I photographed these creatures with my phone as I left.

Oxford Nat Hist 2

And this is how it looks when it’s open, with a roof like a great whale’s rib cage.

Oxford Nat Hist 4

Oxford Nat Hist 3

 

One response

  1. The roof is stunning! Thanks, Mike. I now wish I had visited last time I was in Oxford.

    June 3, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Leave a Reply

