thinking about archaeology

Who is the bird?

A few years ago we lost a pair of nesting thrushes to a neighbouring cat, and last year a pair of dunnocks left unhatched eggs in their nest. So I was delighted, when recently I was doing a bit of garden trimming, to see a song thrush nest with one new egg. And even more so when I  realised I had a pair of dunnocks flying in and out of the honeysuckle by my office window, and burrowing through the tangled growth to reach their own small nest.

But now I’m confused. I’m no expert on these things, but it seems to me the birds flying to and from the thrush nest (which now squeaks loudly on their approach) are blackbirds. The egg I saw looked like this (courtesy Wikipedia):

And the birds look like this:

Can anyone help me out? Is it possible to have two different nesting pairs very close together?

 

 

3 responses

  1. Mike , a thrushes nest is quite distinct from that of a blackbird in that it tends to have no feathers or grasses but cup of wood pulp and mud .The eggs are also quite different ,those in the pic are thrushes eggs , blackbird eggs are more mottled with the mottling being brown rather than the black found on the thrush eggs .
    George

    April 28, 2012 at 5:25 pm

  2. mikepitts

    I didn’t really get a look at the nest, as soon as I realised there was an egg in it with a bird nearby, i left it alone. But I’m sure the egg was not a blackbird’s.

    April 28, 2012 at 8:26 pm

  3. olwen mayes

    Hi Mike, I`ve had a similar situation with dunnocks, blackbirds and thrushes all in a very small area in the back corner of my garden where I have a large bay tree. The garden beyond belongs to a neighbour who is also a conservationist. I`ll ask him if blackbirds and thrushes will nest in close proximity. I know for certain that blackbirds, dunnocks/sparrows, nest there. I haven`t seen a thrush for a few years after my cat got it, but I have seen one in the garden again recently.

    April 29, 2012 at 7:51 pm

Leave a Reply

